Specialist Meeting

Description

This two-day specialist meeting included invited plenary presentations by experts on challenges of spatial thinking in different disciplines, cognitive analyses of spatial thinking processes, and current best practices in educating spatial thinking. In smaller breakout sessions, disciplinary experts, cognitive scientists, and college administrators worked together to identify the current state of our understanding of spatial thinking, identify gaps in our knowledge, and identify priorities for both research and practice in educating spatial thinkers at the college level.

View the Flyer [PDF Document]

Spatial Thinking Across the College Curriculum

December 10–11, 2012

Convened by  The Center for Spatial Studies, University of California, Santa Barbara, and The Spatial Intelligence and Learning Center

There is now convincing evidence that spatial abilities are related to both success and participation in STEM disciplines. More generally, there is an increasing recognition of the importance of spatiality as a unifier of academic disciplines, including the social sciences, arts, and humanities, sometimes referred to as a “spatial turn.” But it is also widely acknowledged that spatial thinking is not fostered in our educational system and that current practice depends more on selection of the most able students for spatially demanding disciplines than on fostering the spatial intelligence of all students. This meeting brought together cognitive scientists, disciplinary experts, and college administrators to examine how to best educate spatial thinking at the college level. A research agenda was prioritized with the goal of evaluating current approaches to spatial education, filling in gaps in our knowledge, and considering how a curriculum in spatial thinking can best be implemented at the college level.

Specific questions to be addressed include:

  • What are best current practices in spatial education at the college level?
  • What is the role of technologies, such as geographic information systems and virtual environment technologies, in developing spatial thinking skills?
  • Can we identify a set of general spatial skills that are relevant to spatial thinking across several disciplines?
  • Are spatial skills best trained in the context of a discipline or in a domain of general knowledge? For example, if a student is taught to imagine cross sections in the context of a geology course, does this skill transfer to imagining sections in engineering or biology?
  • What are the connections between “spatial thinking” courses and curricula organized for disciplines? For example, do all geography or geometry courses naturally or automatically support spatial thinking processes?
  • What are learning outcomes for spatial thinking curricula, and what form should assessment take?
  • What are the administrative challenges and opportunities for implementing spatial thinking courses and programs at the college level?

Location

Upham Hotel 1404 De La Vina St. Santa Barbara California 93101 http://uphamhotel.com

Dates

Meeting: Monday, December 10 and Tuesday, December 11

Meeting Details

Agenda

Final Report

Organizing Committee

Mary Hegarty(University of California, Santa Barbara) Michael F. Goodchild (University of California, Santa Barbara) Donald Janelle (University of California, Santa Barbara) Nora Newcombe (Temple University) Thomas F. Shipley (Temple University) Diana Sinton (University of Redlands)

Project Partners

      spatial learning logo      ESRI Logo

Meeting Structure

This 2-day specialist meeting was organized by the Center for Spatial Studies (http://spatial.ucsb.edu) at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the Spatial Intelligence and Learning Center (http://www.spatiallearning.org/). The meeting included invited plenary presentations by experts on challenges of spatial thinking in different disciplines, cognitive analyses of spatial thinking processes, and current best practices in educating spatial thinking. In smaller breakout sessions, disciplinary experts, cognitive scientists, and college administrators worked together to identify the current state of our understanding of spatial thinking, identify gaps in our knowledge, and identify priorities for both research and practice in educating spatial thinkers at the college level.

Participants

Participants

[PDF Document]  All Bios       [PDF Document]  All Position Papers 


Tom Baker tbaker@esri.com [PDF Document] Bio     [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Education Manager, Industry Solutions ESRI

William Bechtel bill@mechanism.ucsd.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Department of Philosophy

University of California, San Diego

Scott Bell scott.bell@usask.ca [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Department of Geography and Planning Spatial Initiative

University of Saskatchewan

Wesley Bernardini wesley_bernardini@redlands.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

University of Redlands

David Bodenhamer intu100@iupui.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

The Polis Center at Indiana University

Purdue University, Indianapolis

Peter Bol pkbol@fas.harvard.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper  [PDF Document] Presentation

Charles H. Carswell Professor

Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations

Harvard University

Laura Carlson lcarlson@nd.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Professor of Psychology

Department of Psychology

University of Notre Dame

Beth Casey beth.casey@bc.edu [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Professor Emeritus

School of Education

Boston College

David DiBiase DDiBiase@esri.com [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Director of Education

Industry Solutions Division ESRI

Roger M. Downs rd7@psu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Geography

The Pennsylvania State University

Billy Fields wf16@txstate.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Director Center for Research, Public Policy, and Training

Department of Political Science

Texas State University

Eric Fournier ejfourni@samford.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Professor & Chair

Department of Geography

Samford University

Mark Gahegan m.gahegan@auckland.ac.nz [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Director

Centre for eResearch

University of Auckland, New Zealand

Fiona Goodchild fiona@cnsi.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Advisor

Center for Science and Engineering Partnerships (CSEP)

University of California, Santa Barbara

Michael Goodchild good@geog.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Geography

University of California, Santa Barbara

Karl Grossner karlg@stanford.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Academic Computing Services

Stanford University Libraries

Mary Hegarty hegarty@spatial.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences

Director, Center for Spatial Studies (spatial@ucsb)

University of California, Santa Barbara

Stephen Hirtle hirtle@pitt.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Professor, Information Sciences

Joint appointments in Psychology and Intelligent Systems Programs

University of Pittsburgh

Don Janelle janelle@geog.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Geography

University of California, Santa Barbara

Krzysztof Janowicz jano@geog.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper  [PDF Document] Presentation

Cognitive and Behavioral Geography, Geographic Information Science

Department of Geography

University of California, Santa Barbara

Kim Kastens kkastens@edc.org [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper  [PDF Document] Presentation

Distinguished Scholar and Principal Scientist

Learning and Teaching Division

Education Development Center (EDC)

Special Research Scientist

Columbia University

Alexander Klippel klippel@psu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

GeoVista Center

Department of Geography

The Pennsylvania State University

Robert Kolvoord kolvoord@jmu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Libraries and Educational Technologies

James Madison University

Werner Kuhn kuhn@uni-muenster.de [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Professor of Geoinformatics

University of Münster

Lynn Liben liben@psu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Psychology

The Pennsylvania State University

Rich Mayer mayer@psych.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper

University of California, Santa Barbara

Daniel R. Montello montello@geog.ucsb.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Department of Geography and Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences

University of California, Santa Barbara

Nora Newcombe newcombe@temple.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

James H. Glackin Distinguished Faculty Fellow

Professor, Department of Psychology

Temple University

David O’Sullivan d.osullivan@auckland.ac.nz [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

School of Environment

University of Auckland

John Pani jrpani@louisville.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences

University of Louisville

Sarah Perez-Kriz kriz@sandiego.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Office of Undergraduate Research

University of San Diego

Amy Lynn Shelton ashelton@jhu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Associate Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences

Johns Hopkins University

Thomas F. Shipley tshipley@temple.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Department of Psychology

Temple University

Diana Sinton diana_sinton@redlands.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Spatial Curriculum and Research

University of Redlands

Stephanie Slater stephanie@caperteam.com [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Director, Center for Astronomy & Physics Education Research (CAPER)

University of Wyoming

Sheryl A. Sorby sorby.1@osu.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Michigan Technological University

Visiting Professor

The Ohio State University

Michael Stieff mstieff@uic.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    Powerpoint   Presentation

Assistant Professor

Chemistry/Learning Sciences

University of Illinois, Chicago

Julie Sweetkind-Singer sweetkind@stanford.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper 

Assistant Director

Geospatial, Cartographic and Scientific Data & Services

Head Librarian

Branner Earth Sciences Library and Map Collections

Stanford University

David Tulloch dtulloch@crssa.rutgers.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Department of Landscape Architecture

School of Environmental and Biological Sciences

Associate Director, Grant F. Walton Center for Remote Sensing and Spatial Analysis

Rutgers University

Barbara Tversky btversky@stanford.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Professor of Psychology and Education

Columbia Teachers College

David Uttal duttal@northwestern.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Professor of Psychology and Education

Northwestern University

John Wilson jpwilson@dornsife.usc.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Spatial Sciences Institute

University of Southern California

Kenneth Yanow kyanow@swccd.edu [PDF Document] Bio    [PDF Document] Position Paper    [PDF Document] Presentation

Professor of Geographical Sciences

Co-PI National Geospatial Technology Center of Excellence (the GeoTech Center)

Southwestern College

Travel

The Upham Hotel
1404 De la Vina Street (corner of Sola Street)
Santa Barbara, CA 93101


View Larger Map

Last modified: September 11, 2014